The Five Stages of Grief: Coping with the End of Sungkyunkwan Scandal

You know there’s something special about a drama when it has you dreading the finale and hoping beyond all hope that some chain-smoking bigwig will give the go-ahead to extend it by a few more episodes. Surely there’s enough juice for at least four more? What about Yong-ha and Cho-sun’s back stories? Don’t tell me you’re going to cram everything into the last four episodes!

I can’t believe I’m going through withdrawal symptoms even before it’s over.

Oh God, what are you doing to me, Sungkyunkwan Scandal

 Stage 1: Denial

What do you mean it’s going to be replaced with Mary Stayed Out All Night on November 8?

NOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

(Aside: I must be the only person in the entire universe who isn’t looking forward to this one. While I can appreciate that Jang Geun Suk is pretty and all, he just doesn’t do it for me. Now, my mother on the other hand…)

Stage 2: Anger

Damn you, SHOW! If I had known this was going to happen, I would never have started this affair with you!

*sob* I just wish I knew how to quit you

Stage 3: Bargaining

 

Dear Mr President of KBS, if you bring Sungkyunkwan Scandal back for another season, I promise I will never make fun of Winter Sonata ever again.

Somehow I don’t think this is going to have the effect I’m hoping for. Anyone with any bright ideas?

Stage 4: Depression

Seon-joon anticipates what I’ll be doing on November 2.

November 3, 2010

Me: Hello, boss? I won’t be coming into the office today. I, uh, have a fever and my heart feels like it’s been through a blender.

Boss: Blah blah DEADLINE blah blah CLIENT blah blah blah…SCHEDULE blah blah blah…

Me: [hangs up phone] …Seon-joon…Yoon-hee…Jae-shin…Yong-ha…why did you guys have to go and leave me like this?

 Stage 5: Acceptance

As with everything else, life goes on. The dull ache will eventually subside and my ears will probably be bleeding from listening to the soundtrack one too many times. Hopefully, KBS will be kind enough to give the go-ahead for a sequel.

Until then, thank you, Sungkyunkwan Scandal! You’ve been a blast! *sob*

11 comments

  1. Confessions of a SKKS addict:

    Before you came into my life, I hated Mondays and Tuesdays. But you made those days precious and bearable. What will I do now with all those free time once you go away? No more searching for spoilers, recaps, video links, or any information pertaining to you. Does this mean dishes will now get washed, projects will get completed in time, or that I will finally have a life?

    (Too emotional to continue…)

  2. Sungkyunkwan junkie diary:

    Dear Diary ( looks at picture of Micky yoochun- Lee Seon Jeon)

    good-bye for a while. I’m shakin’ I’m cold, its withdrawal
    symptoms from the end of the drama SKKS. So anyeong
    I’m off to Sungkyunkwan Anonymous with a trainload of S
    KKS addicts. Sigh I’m gonna be in pretty good company, zonked out, racooned eyes fangurls who are sleep deprived on Mondays and Tuesdays running on caffeine overload. Getting drunk on gingerale to mourn the end of the series, didn’t help either. They say that Micky’s fanclub you know the Cassies will send over
    fangifts to help with the rehab the way they did for the cast
    and crew of SKKS during the filming of the drama. Wait, they’re taking turns in the rehab center too, its gonna be ovecrowded. I’m allowed one item so its gotta be this
    photo of Micky as Lee Seon Jeon with tears falling down his cheeks, exactly how I’m feeling right now.
    Will it help to send a card to CP min at KBS for a sequel? GTG, I’m dragging my feet away from my lappy away from
    the subbed drama series stored in my harddrive, away from internet access to midnight express and its hilarious recaps. drama gods take pity on me. anyeong
    sarangheo.

    Ginger

  3. I’m extremely sad….this drama will be ended without sequel …
    Every monday & tuesday…always waiting… with thrill & excitement ! I love SKKS & Micky so much !
    I really hope KBS will reconsider us ( all SKKS addicts )

  4. Me also…even though its gonna end soon than i expected..i’m still happy that i was able to join those with SKKS addiction…huhuhuhu….but im still gonna watch it over and over again continously until my eyes bleed…

  5. – speechless… speechless… speechless
    – add me in rehab centre, as long as kyhee & lsj are there
    – as much as i like my life become normal again, this is going to be one hell of recovery road
    – maybe take a break from k drama????
    – WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO ME, SKKS????????????????????

  6. SKKS Anonymous? Where do I sign up?

    I think I’m going to have to do a Seon-joon and beat my own heart into submission.

    BTW, I love your comments, guys, they’re hilarious. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who needs Joseon crack therapy.

  7. PLEASE…Ellely….do keep your absolutely divine and entertaining recaps continuing after SKKS ends!

    I just need to wallow in serious Denial and savour this Joseon crack therapy for a while longer.

    Can’t believe SKKS is ending in two weeks…Oh no, feel a panic attack coming on already!

Leave a Reply

