The Greatest Love: Cha Seung-won Has a Feeling of Déjà Vu

Otherwise known as…

*Of course, in the case of Athena, people were mostly wondering how long it would take Lee Jung-woo to grow a brain.

I’m not following The Greatest Love in earnest yet because I tend to be a monogamous drama watcher and it’s all about 49 Days (or Han Kang, to be precise) for me right now. But I was skimming through the first episode and this sequence reminded me immediately of Athena and how it got everyone excited at first but tanked soon after.

Cha Seung-won is hilarious in this and a part of me can’t help but wonder if he’s trying to exorcise memories of working on Athena. I didn’t expect him to sign on to another drama so quickly but maybe he wanted to work with the Hong sisters/Gong Hyo-jin? I prefer my first theory though. Haha.

Speaking of the Hong sisters, I think I might actually end up liking this one a lot. I know they enjoy a certain cachet among drama viewers but their shows haven’t always worked for me. I enjoyed You’re Beautiful only because Jang Geun-suk was so charismatic as Hwang Tae-kyung. I can’t say I cared for any of the other characters and god knows I had issues with Mi-nyu’s stupidity. Park Shin-hye, please watch The Sound of Music if you haven’t. Maria is a virginal and innocent nun but in no part of the show will you find Julie Andrews acting like someone with the mentality of a five-year old.

I watched the first two episodes of My Girlfriend is a Gumiho and while I found Shin Mina very winsome, I just couldn’t get into the show or connect with Lee Seungi’s character. Wimpy guys don’t really do it for me, sorry. But we won’t have that problem with The Greatest Love because Dokko Jin is neither a wimp nor an idiot and Cha Seung-won looks like he is really having fun taking the piss out of his character. Gong Hyo-jin is an actress with a natural, winsome charm and you know you won’t be getting any overdone aegyo shtick from her. I’d love to see how her character develops and from what I saw in the first episode, I think her character’s unpopularity is also due to the fact that she’s really too retiring and soft-hearted for the big, bad world of showbiz. I can’t wait for her to turn Jin’s world upside down. God knows he has it coming.

12 comments

  1. Ae Jung is already turning Dokko Jin’s world upside down, right side up then upside down again. I’ve just finished two episodes and read the recap of ep 3 and I think I’m in for the long haul cause I like the two main leads a lot. And there’s the appeal of the underdog winning the top honcho or the pure clueless second lead, that just grabs my heart the way Dokko Jin’s heart goes doogun doogun every time Ae Jung’s ringtone comes on. I love the Hong’s sisters You are Beautiful but for a different reason—then newbie actor and CNBlue vocalist Jung YongHwa’s Shin. I have this thing for gentle bleeding heart second leads. When iI get hit by the second lead syndrome, its really bad. Didn’t even watch a teaser of My Girlfriend is a Gumiho. I love the convo bubbles in your screen cap of Greatest Love….its probably the convo going on in CSW’s head as he is watching Athena if he even watched it at all.

    1. Okay, I’m really going to have to catch up on The Greatest Love after 49 Days is done airing. I keep hearing things about this wonderful second lead…sigh, so many hot guys, so few hours in a day. What to do?

  2. I agree with you abt Minyu’s dimness but I also agree with Ginger re: Shin. He was sweet, though I wish someone had poked him with a cattle prod so he wouldn’t just stand in teh background and love her from afar.

    Luv the comic – cute! Can’t wait till you get on board Best Love completely. Fighting Ellely!

    1. You took the words right out of mouth, Pia. Totally get what you mean about the cattle prod. It’s a good thing I’m stocking up on Best Love episodes now because I’m going to need something to stave my Han Kang fever.

  3. I just happened to stumble upon this blog? I was chasing after Cha and something a friend of mine said was called Chathena which was something similar to what you’ve done only I somehow understood video. Anyhow, you made me laugh with your inventive so I though of just letting you know.

    I did like Athena, at the rate I keep reading negative reviews I might be the only one, but I found it thrilling and amusing and well balanced in the violence:comedy ratio…I knew I wasn’t going to find romantic love but… there you go.

    1. Hello Beekinga, thanks for stopping by! I know what it’s like to be in the minority. I was probably one of the few who didn’t hate Bae Soo-bin’s and Seo Ji-hye’s characters in 49 Days so yes, more power to you for enjoying Athena! God knows I wanted to like it :)

  4. Your blog is pure wins! Bookmarking it so i can laughed more!
    As of now i am totally hooked and dead-bait for this drama! I have not cried from laughing so much in a long time, a result of Dokko Jin’s WIN-static! bratty/spoiled/random/loving outbursts (especially that laugh of his). Random fetish thought but Cha Seung Won has like the sexiest legs ever! When he walks…UMPH!, it’s pure eyegasm; he can just model jeans all day and i can happily die watching it.

    1. Thanks for the kind words. I hope you enjoy your time here! :)

      Ah, Cha Seung-won. The man is like fine wine — he just gets better with age. Though I was rooting for Pil-joo, that doesn’t mean I didn’t appreciate Jin’s assets. I mean, how could I not, especially with his clothes being so tight and all? XP

Leave a Reply

