Is this love that I’m feeling?

For those of you who watched GTO, remember this guy? Guess who he grew up to be?

I’ll give you a clue. Think white leotards and roses. Think delusions of 18th century grandeur. Think sparkly dorm leader of a certain boys’ boarding school…

Nooooooo, I hear you say. Oh, but YES! Girls and boys, presenting my favourite Hana Kimi character of all time: the one, the only…

♥ OSCAR M. HIMEJIMA ♥

Oh, Tokuyama Hidenori. You’ve come such a long way from getting your ass kicked by Onizuka and his biker friends. It seems like only yesterday that you were hanging out with Oguri Shun (and Yosuke Kubozuka ) and protecting your sensei from the Headmaster and the PTA.

And now look at you, you’re all sparkly and grown up *sniff*

And you have your own little band of underlings groveling at your feet…

…not to mention your own pair of falsies. You know, they sure don’t make high school dramas like they used to.

Whatever would Onizuka say? Probably: "Pfft. Whatever rocks your boat, kid."

So yes, for those of you who are still wondering about this, I like what Tokuyama is doing with Oscar. It’s very true to the spirit of the manga character, which is more than I can say about his predecessor. I just watched clips of Hana Kimi 2007 on Youtube and I wanted to cry because the scenes were so sacrilegious and so wrong. Flamboyant though he may be, Oscar would N-E-V-E-R do something as tacky as prance around in a bear costume. He may not be functioning on the same wavelength as the other students but he has standards, all right? [Manga image via niko-niko.net]

Thankfully, 2011 Himejima is nothing like his predecessor and if the drama continues to stay true to the manga, I cannot wait for Hibari Hanayashiki to make an appearance because she and Oscar have an epic rivalry that goes all the way back to their childhood. It’s going to be so much fun watching them together.

And on that note, if it’s not obvious to you by now, I am in like with Hana Kimi 2011.

Yes, I know. God help me but it is shaping up to be crack of the extreme variety.

I had no intention of picking this up in the beginning. I didn’t watch the 2007 series and like everyone else I didn’t see the point of a remake. Also, my first reaction to Sano (Nakamura Aoi), Nakatsu (Miura Shohei) and Minami (Kiriyama Renn) – actually, practically the entire cast tbh – when I saw the poster was: ‘Why does everyone look so ugly?’

God, it's been such a long time since I watched a J-drama. I have no idea who most of these boys are.

Over the course of two episodes, that opinion has been revised to ‘Actually, they don’t look that bad from certain angles’ and then to ‘Someone needs to have a talk with the graphic designer and make sure s/he never touches Photoshop again.’

Plus – and I think this could just be the effect of watching too many K-pop idols and actors flaunt their six packs – is it just me or are the J-boys in this drama really skinny? I just want to force feed the actor playing Tennoji curry rice and have him lift weights to achieve some muscular definition.

But skinny physiques aside, this remake has done a really good job in staying true to the manga so far. It’s moving along briskly and I have no complaints about the boys. Also another plus: Maeda Atsuko is very likeable as Mizuki – she’s spunky and upbeat, and for what it’s worth, I think she makes a convincing boy. (ETA: I really don’t understand the Maeda hate but you know what they say about haters.)

At any rate, the most important thing is that she doesn’t make me feel like throwing something at her, which is more than I can say about Ella in the Taiwanese version. Personally, I couldn’t stand her portrayal of Mizuki or her exaggerated expressions, which is why I stopped watching the drama after a while because I just felt like smacking someone every time she appeared.

Episode 3 can’t come fast enough. In the meantime, have more pictures!

Nanba sempai!

My resistance to Kamen Rider W crumbles with each passing Sunday

I’m very curious to see how the actor cast to play Nakao in the K-drama version of Hana Kimi is going to top Nishii Yukito’s act. No pressure there, I’m sure.

[via heeellou]

Definitely no pressure.

[via sunbursts and rainshine]

I know a lot of people think Ikuta Toma is the best Nakatsu ever, which is totally fine with me. The whole world can swoon over Toma. I will take Miura – yellow windcheater, zebra-striped towel and all.

I swear Nakatsu’s crisis of faith will never get old XD

Dear Miura-kun, I think when people talk about washboard abs, the emphasis is really on "abs" and not "washboard".

Oh Miura Shohei, I have no idea who you are but I feel that I should acquaint myself with your drama backlist now.

Nakatsu: Mizuki in cosplay, Mizuki in cosplay, calm yourself Nakatsu, Mizuki in cos- WHY IS IT YOU?

[via sunbursts and rainshine]

17 comments

  1. I swore I wouldn’t touch this with a 5000000ft pole and now…*patches holes in crumbling will power*

    On a scale of 1 to 10, how cracktastic is this, really?

    1. watch it…waaaaatch it…waaaaaaaaatch it. *pokes more holes in pia’s will power*

      But seriously, why don’t you want to touch it? Are you a massive fan of the 2007 version? If so, there’s really nothing for me to say except that this version is best enjoyed in the context of the manga. It’s inevitable that comparisons will be made but if you really enjoyed the manga, you’ll (probably) enjoy this one too.

      On a scale of 1 to 10, how cracktastic is this, really?

      Well, it’s approaching SKKS levels for me. I’m upset there’s only going to be 10 episodes. Mind you, this is crack of the mindless variety. It doesn’t require you to think at all. In fact, it’s best enjoyed if you don’t think too hard about what you’re seeing on screen. But again, this is totally in keeping with the manga, which is pretty light on logic as well. You’re probably not going to enjoy it if you spend all your time wondering why the boys can’t tell Mizuki is a girl. Just treat Ohsaka Gakuen as a School for the Exceptionally Weird. There’s probably an unspoken rule that you have to be a weirdo to enrol in it. With all the oddballs in the school, the guys probably think she’s an exceptionally late bloomer who’s yet to hit puberty and grow an Adam’s apple. Seriously, when you consider the likes of Oscar and Nakao, she probably comes across as a very normal young boy.

      Er…so does that answer your question?

  2. I really like Miura Shohei as Nakatsu. He’s a reallly enjoyable actor. Actually he and Kiriyama Renn were the only reason why I picked up this drama.

    1. Oh god, Kiriyama Renn is growing on me like mould on blue cheese. This is terrible. I’m so conflicted. On the one hand, I’m thinking, “Does the production crew ever feed him?” On the other hand, I totally understand what Nakao is on to.

      Same here. I think Miura is doing a great job as Nakatsu. It’s too bad this came after the 2007 version and he has to contend with all the comparisons between him and Toma.

  3. I am NOT a remake person, but seriously this Hana Kimi makes the world beautiful.
    I am in love with … every single thing (and most especiallyest every single thing Tokuyama-san does. He is SO cracktastic and I’ve loved him for years).

    I’m glad so many people agree that this one beats the 2007 version to a pulp.
    And I lovelovelove Miura Haruma in it.
    Although I still think Toma is essence of perfection …..

    1. I know what you mean about Tokuyama. I LOVE what he’s doing with Oscar. I need to revisit his drama backlist as well. The last time I saw him was in GTO and sad to say, I did not follow his career after that. Who would’ve thought he’d grow up to be so hot?

      I don’t think there’s anything I hate about Hana Kimi 2011. All the characters are growing on me, like Toma’s Kayashima and I swear Sano was never my favourite character before but I really like how Nakamura Aoi is playing him.

      Although I still think Toma is essence of perfection …..

      Yeah…I get what people mean when they say this. It’s like how I feel about Jang Geun Suk’s Hwang Tae Kyung. I wasn’t crazy about the drama but I watched it for him because he totally owned the character. If Korea were to produce a remake of YAB, I can just imagine the shit storm that will erupt among the fangirls.

  4. I’m getting on the Hana Kimi 2011 cracktastic bandwagon too! I think the remake is amazingly adorable and hilarious. I have a special place in my drama addicted heart for the taiwan version only because Jiro Wang was ueber funny as Nakatsu. Hana Kimi 2007 will always be ikemen paradise brimming to the top and over with the hottest j idols ever. but hana kimi 2011 is special as well, yeah this oscar is elegant simply elegant. and I heart sano’s pouting countenance and i love how perky ashiya muzuk is. and miura’s nakatsu is really growing on me like mold on multigrain bread ( cause i can’t stand fromage bleue). and the gay doctor here is the sexy veteran actor of countless yaoi and BL dramas and movies that I use to stan but I’m over that now. the cast may not be the pretty boys of the taiwanese and 2007 versions but hey I love normal looking boys and girls being silly. I may not the korean version though like I didn’t watch the kdrama Hana Yori Dango.But that’s up in the air until the kdrama airs.

    1. I have a special place in my drama addicted heart for the taiwan version only because Jiro Wang was ueber funny as Nakatsu.

      Oh don’t get me wrong. I liked Jiro as Nakatsu but Ella did my head in so I had to drop the drama. Having said that, I think no matter the version, Nakatsu will always be a fan favourite because he’s just such a likeable character! Mizuki likes Sano now, but that’s only because she’s still young. Give her 10 years and she’ll realise that it’s the guy who makes you laugh who’s the real keeper. Haha.

      Hana Kimi 2007 will always be ikemen paradise brimming to the top

      You see, the thing is… *whispers* I don’t really find the 2007 cast all that hot *looks around, dodges rocks* I have come to accept that I am wired differently from everyone else so minna-san, pay no attention to me and please continue fangirling over Shun, Toma & Co.

      1. Oh honey, give me Aoi-kun any day. I always hated Shun, and pretty much just because he was SO unlikeable in Hana Kimi. I was facepalming the whole time. I wanted to shake Maki and scream “WHY?! WHY WOULD YOU PICK HIM!?”

        And don’t even get me started on Hot Doctor Takumi. He could give me a thorough examining any day. <3333

      2. I wanted to shake Maki and scream “WHY?! WHY WOULD YOU PICK HIM!?”

        Er…because the script said so? XD

        I haven’t watched the 2007 version in its entirety but I don’t think anyone can begrudge 2011 Sano his Mizuki. Btw, have you seen the ending of the finale yet? http://cookiesmon.tumblr.com/post/10356779100/hanazakari-no-kimitachi-e-2011-finale-its-all. (beware spoilers) I was always kind of indifferent to SanoxMizuki but these two are just so much love.

        Hot Doctor Takumi is right…I wish there had been an Umeda-centric episode in this version. I would have paid good money to see Akiha and Io terrorise him…XD

      1. I see a kindred spirit in you is all. :P

        Plus, so many people don’t even realise how amazingly awesome this guy is.

  5. AAAAAHN XD!!!!! HIMEJIMA-SAMA <333333
    i'm getting all excited and hyped up because of him xD!!
    i just want to scream like those bitchy fangirls XD

    In the 07 hanakimi I really hate Oscar. He can be funny but he really is ugly -_- I cant stand his over expressive facial expressions. I also hate Shun and Maki was very annoying in that drama.

    BUT!! In this version all those annoying people are gone! XD and '11 version of Izumi and Ashiya is likable too. AND HIMEJIMA-SAMA IS PERFECT! I can practically see the sparkle effect around him every time he talks. Aaah I really love this himejima xD

  6. HIMEJIMA-SAMA!! XD
    I love this remake 100000000000000000x more than the original ones :D
    The main characters are actually likeable, unlike that annoying izumi and ashiya in the ’07 version.

    AND.HIMEJIMA.MASAO.IS.LOVE!

    xD I’m head over heels for him. The old himejima sure is funny but I cant stand his ugly over expressive facial expressions. Oscar is supposed to be pretty D: and that ’07 version is plain ugly. Tokuyama Hidenori did justice to Oscar >:D

Leave a Reply

