You know your relationship with K-dramas has hit a rough patch when…

1. The things that once made you squee with excitement now give you a major case of eye-rollage. Par exemple:

kiss

Fans: OMG! THEY’RE GOING TO KISS!!!!!! (x300)

Me:

gasmask


2. You find yourself turning into one of those crotchety old nuns from your Sunday school when you see yet another idol/actor flashing his choco abs.

bathroom

Fans: ASKDJASKLFJLDKJGLSDJGLSJDFKLDJASKLFJASLK!!!!!

Me: Oh, for the love of…

tvcat

3. Every rom-com synopsis starts to sound the same to you: Man meets woman. They bicker. They fall in love. Shit happens and one of them becomes a noble idiot…

feelings

Et tu, Anthony?

Fans: OMG, I will cut someone if the OTP don’t end up together.

Me: Zzzzzzzzz…..

boredcat

Notes:

1) Unfortunately, The King of Dramas is the only K-drama I have on my hard drive at the moment, hence the reason it’s the only show featured here. It’s by no means a terrible drama though I will say that the last three episodes and that bizarro ending extinguished a great deal of my affection for it.

2) All the cat memes come from quickmeme.

8 comments

  1. I’m in a k-drama funk also. I still have a inexplicable draw to watch bad k-drama though. I’m wallowing in the foolishment that is A Hundred Year Inheritance, a 50-episode drama, and feeling the burn.
    J-Doramas are my consolation prize. They reassure me that there are still good stories to tell. Thank you for recommending Saikou no Rikon and Tonbi! You’re saving my drama watching life one show at a time.

    1. I AM SO GLAD YOU DECIDED TO WATCH TONBI! You have fabulous taste :DDD
      As I said to my chingu Gingerella in an earlier comment, it is hands down my favourite drama of the winter season and I can’t recommend it enough.

      As for Saikou no Rikon, I’m a few episodes behind but I plan to rectify this…er, soon. I’ll be the first to admit that SnR is more sophisticated than Tonbi but the latter gets me in the heart like nobody’s business.

      I’m wallowing in the foolishment that is A Hundred Year Inheritance, a 50-episode drama, and feeling the burn.

      Ahahahaha…does that 50-episode drama have anything to do with the initials L.S.S perchance? I enjoy watching stupid dramas and movies every now and then (as I’m sure you already know) but if it’s going to make you lose brain cells, then it had better be one hell of an entertaining train wreck. Nothing is worse than a drama that is not only stupid but boring as hell.

  2. I’ve been in a kdrama slump for around the past 3 months, partly due to work and partly due to the lackluster offerings. It finally got broken when I decided to retry watching Can We Get Married on a whim. Dropped it after 1 ep the first time around, but this time I continued watching and ended up marathoning it in two days. I know you didn’t like it either when you watched the first few eps but may I suggest a retry? A lot of the characters seem very flawed and annoying at first (main female lead is very pushy, secondary female is too clingy, second male lead is a jerk etc.), but the show and the other characters call them out on their flaws, and they all go through a great deal of character development. There’s a great review of the show here if you’re interested: http://idlerevelry.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/can-we-get-married-series-review/

    And if you’re not feeling like anything romantic, may I rec White Christmas (or as some ppl call it, Flower Boy: Psychological Thriller edition)? It’s only 8 eps long, written by Park Yeon Seon, has some gorgeous directing, has no romance and has Sung Joon in the cast. Only weak point is the acting by the pretty pretty cast.

    1. Hi whimsyful, thanks for the recs! :D

      Re: Can We Get Married. I’ve been wondering if I wasn’t a teeny bit too harsh in my comments about the drama…or if the dialogue got lost in translation because I do remember er…disliking almost every single person in that drama…and then coming across reviews that praised it for its realistic characters etc, which made me wonder if we were watching the same show. So yes, I should really give it another go one of these days…

      And I’ve been hearing lots of good things about White Christmas! The fact that it doesn’t have the usual love triangle/convoluted romance is an even bigger bonus. Adding it to my To Watch list now! :D

  3. *Hi 5s*
    This is fantastic! And I be feelin’ whatchu feelin’. Like 110% with shirtless scenes etc. I felt like the odd one out there lol.

    However you must remember kdrama is still a big franchise, while creativity is few and far between it’s not entirely gone. You just need to watch the right stuff. If ofcourse that stuff is your kinda stuff. Sadly trendies and things like that are not among the exceptions.

    1. I be feelin’ whatchu feelin’. Like 110% with shirtless scenes etc. I felt like the odd one out there lol.

      I feel that I should explain myself a bit, lest everyone thinks I’ve lost all appreciation for the, um, beauty of the human form *cough* Having the occasional shower/shirtless scene in a drama is all fine and well (and I’ll be the first to admit that I have been v. appreciative of some of them in the past XD) but when they start appearing in drama after drama, that’s when they start becoming tedious and boring. Is there no other way of capturing an individual’s sex appeal other than to have them take their tops off?

      However you must remember kdrama is still a big franchise, while creativity is few and far between it’s not entirely gone. You just need to watch the right stuff

      Oh, for sure. I’m not trying to tar all K-dramas with the same brush — I realise there are some really good ones out there that go beyond the usual love-rhombus formulae adopted by most trendies and I know you’ve reviewed quite a few of them on your blog. But here’s the thing: I believe a trendy drama is capable of telling a good story and I don’t think they should be synonymous with mindless pap. Some of them, like KoD, have really interesting premises, but the frustrating thing is that they can’t seem to leave behind the four-lead template, which I think really limits what they can do.

  4. Chingu, I’m joining the club, kdramas are kinda starting to look like the mirror image of the one that played the season before. I’m gathering enough courage to watch White Christmas cause its kinda dark and well its a suspense thriller and sometimes I’m alone at home in the dark. The main pull of the drama for me is Baek Sung Hyun, someone give this boy a lead role in a drama already!
    I’ve got a long list of spring jdoramas to look forward to.
    I’m waiting for subs of Rich Man Poor Woman SP
    Galileo 2- more of Fukuyama Masaharu, our love Kitamura Kazuki, Kou Shibasaki, Yoshita Yoriko and Osawa Takao
    Doubles – Hideaki Ito and Sakaguchi Kenji as two yummy detectives!
    35 sai no Kokousei -Yonekura Ryoko as a 35 year old back in high school with Mitzobata Junpei
    Lost Cinderella- Shinohara Ryoko, Naohito Fujiki and Miura Haruma.
    Kasuki no Kanojo with Shingo , Kitayama Hiromitsu, Maya Miki, Atsuko Maeda
    Kumo no Kaida- don’t know any of the actors but plot is similar to kdrama Stairway of Cloud
    Take Five- Inagaki Goro and Tori Matsuzaka as thieves.
    Now where do I find a day with more than 24 hours in a week of more than 7 days to watch all these dramas?

    1. I have to confess that I was never a fan of the first Galileo series. I tried watching it but I’m sorry to say that I got bored very quickly *ducks head* Sorry, Japanese cop procedurals are just not my thing. Having said that, I will probably watch the first episode for…reasons XD

      If you know me and my one-track mind well enough, I think you will have no problem guessing which J-drama I am definitely watching this season…

      I saw the trailer for Take Five — looks pretty interesting. I am also keeping an eye out for Sennyu Tantei Tokage (Matsuda Shota, Renbutsu Misako and Matsuoka Masahiro).

      Now where do I find a day with more than 24 hours in a week of more than 7 days to watch all these dramas?

      I barely have the time to watch one drama these days let alone, um, eight. I dunno…stock up on Red Bull? xP

Leave a Reply

