Drive-by Impressions: You’re The Best, Lee Soon-shin Eps 1-4

Okay, here’s the thing: I really, really wanted to like this drama — if only it wasn’t 50 BLOODY episodes long. From what little I saw, I’m not at all convinced that you can’t tell this story in half the time. If you were to let the Japanese handle this drama, I’m pretty sure they’d be able to whittle the number of episodes down to 10. 

What I Liked

  • Jo Jung-suk. I should mention that he isn’t really my idea of attractive but there’s no denying that he’s a born performer. He has a great flair for comedy and the ability to make even the most mundane scenes interesting.
  • I have a crush on Yeon-na’s hair. It is the sexiest bob I have ever seen.
  • Tahiti’s theme song, 몰라몰라 — catchy and cute.

What I Didn’t Like

  • Its predictability. Even though I’ve never watched a weekend drama, I could tell where this story’s going from a mile away. Not to sound like a broken tape recorder but if that’s the case, why do I have to sit through 50 episodes of this?
  • I FF-ed through most of the family convos, which isn’t a good thing considering that this is a family drama.
  • The fact that characters keep withholding information from one another eg. the cute cafe owner not telling Joon-ho that there’s a conman who’s using his name to scam people out of their money. Isn’t this something you should tell your friend instead of treating it as a joke? People are losing their life savings here! Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong but I am assuming this is the writer’s way of prolonging certain conflicts, not because it makes sense for the characters to behave a certain way but because s/he needs enough material to see the drama through its course. This to me is just inefficient storytelling. I also found it hard to believe that Soon-shin didn’t think of researching Shin-ho’s company before signing the contract with the con-artist. If this drama was set during a period when Internet access wasn’t so commonplace, fine, but when the character is living in the most wired country in the world, the whole set-up becomes rather contrived.

Even though I’m not going to continue with this drama, I think this is a great opportunity for JJS to raise his profile among the masses. I hope it lands him better projects because if there’s anyone who deserves it, he does. As for IU, I can’t say I’ll be watching a drama just for her in the future but she’s cute and doesn’t overdo the aegyo, which is always a plus. (Though if you want me to be honest, I’m not crazy about the way she cries. When she started wailing like she was at a funeral after losing sight of the conman in ep 2, I had to hit the mute button immediately. I don’t mean to be unsympathetic but this particular kind of crying drives me nuts.)

3 comments

  1. I agree with you, especially about the predictability. And the dragginess. The 50 eps. And yet, there’s something intangible about this show that keeps me coming back. I guess I’ve been so starved for lighthearted shows in Kdramaland, that I’m hanging on this one for now, some mindless fluff that I can relax with after a tiring day, and not have to think too hard (or at all).
    I’m also surprised to find that I like IU more than I expected.

    BTW, I’m currently also watching Saikou no Rikon and things do move much quicker in this one. I’m up to ep 5 and so far so good. Ono Machiko as Yuka is a hoot. She’s so wonderful.

    1. I’m sorry for being such a killjoy, doozy! But I did the math and well, 50 episodes = 5 x 10-ep Japanese dramas or 3 x 16-ep Korean miniseries.

      But I totally understand what you mean about watching something mindless after a long day…you’re talking to someone who watched (and enjoyed) Lesbian Vampire Killers…that’s got to be one of the stupidest movies ever made. Now that I think about it, it’s a good thing I didn’t have to pay for the ticket…

      Anyhoo…you’re watching Saikou no Rikon, yay! And yes, Ono Machiko is lots of fun to watch! I have some catching up to do because my old laptop died (hence the absence of pictures in this post) and I have to download all my dramas again. Time to get a cloud drive.

      1. lol no worries. :) This week’s episodes of Soon-shin were kinda testing my tolerance by dragging the same plot point around with little resolution, so we’ll see how long I can keep watching.

        ahahhaha Lesbian Vampire Killers! What a title.. *googles*

        Sorry to hear about your laptop. My laptop’s hard drive also died a while back and it was the loss of those drama files, and not other documents, that was the saddest. Hope you’ll find downloads for the dramas you want again!

Leave a Reply

