Don’t do this to me, Show. I don’t have time for a taiga!!

yns yns2

“My wife is a woman who shoots guns. The wife that I love is a gallant woman who walks in front of her husband. That I was Yae-san’s husband is my life’s proudest achievement…. You must not come here again. You are a woman who is living in the new era. You must go.” ~ Kawasaki Shounosuke 

Someone please hand me a bucket before my heart makes a mess all over the place.

Why I am even reading the recaps of a drama that I know I simply don’t have the time to watch is beyond me but the parting scene between Yae and her ex-husband is thisclose to making me sign away whatever I have left of a social life. And that’s not to mention the apparently equally heart-tugging story between Saitou Hajime and his wife, Tokio.

hajime

Furuya Kenji as Saitou Hajime

hajime2

Saitou = Badass

tokio_yae

Takagi Tokio (Kanjiya Shihori) and Yae

What the hell. *Puts Yae no Sakura on To Watch list* Let’s hope I get snowed in this winter so I can marathon the whole damn thing at one go. In the meantime, I think I’m going to have to read up on my Aizu history first.

[Credits: gifs via princessaryastark.tumblr.com; Shounosuke quote via Girl from Hiroshima (awesome recaps and a must-visit for all SaitouxTokio fans); screencaps via official Yae no Sakura website]

10 comments

  1. I am seriously considering watching this taiga but like you I need 36 hrs in a day and 8 days in a week. Now that you’ve put it on your to watch list, it goes on mine too! Will definitely marathon it and flail with you. Not watching too many kdramas( Her Legend, 2 Weeks, I Summon You Gold) nowadays. And the jdoramas I am watching are mostly fluff, I’m looking at you Yamada kun to Nananin no Majo, except for Hanzawa Naoki cause I can’t resist Sakai Masato and Namonaki Doku because I like Koizumi Kotaro. Hugs chingu!

    1. Not watching too many kdramas( Her Legend, 2 Weeks, I Summon You Gold) nowadays.

      *Ahem* You call this not too many, chingu?! Apart from Hanzawa Naoki, I am not really watching anything else atm (partly because I have been travelling/on holiday and partly because I have been finding it hard to let go of InKLiT…oui, je suis très hopeless…) I have been hearing lots of positive things abt Yamada-kun though (only thing is that Yamamoto Yusuke does nothing for me so I haven’t felt inclined to pick it up at all) but how do you feel abt it? Do you think it’s any good? *Hugs*

      1. Chingu, I totally understand you are still enamored with InKLiT but time to let go and smell the other dramas out there. Yamamoto Yusuke also does nothing to me but the guy is hilarious. He’s got all the anime/manga facial expressions down pat. I love watching his characters come alive as he acts him out. Yamada kun and the 7 witches is just pure fluff and I’m watching it for the pretties, the girls are cute and so are the boys and all the kissing. Hahahaha perv mode on! Its an easy watch just 25 minutes out of 24 hrs. Hanzawa Naoki is on a totally different level and I wait on the edge of my chair for the subs of the next ep. Now that the 2 summer doramas I am watching are almost over, I’m so waiting for Takuya Kimura’s android/physicist drama and Legal High 2. In the meantime, I’ve started Yae no Sakura and I love it. Marathoned 6 episodes and almost went batshit crazy cause the cast, the storyline, the cinematography are just pure awesome. I just hope whoever is subbing it finishes all 52 episodes, cause I didn’t finish Ryomaden when the subs stopped. I love how spunky Yae is, she is so unconventional for her age and time. And yes, bring on the romance. Oh and I discovered thai lakorn on viki and actually finished one whole drama of 15 eps.( mindless, but the lead guy Tantoom, I think that’s his name, is cute and so are the girls and the jewelry are fabulous). I think your blog can be the blog for jdoramad but well its kinda mixed cause you also recap and review kdramas. Afterall we met because of your prattle about SKKS didn’t we? Thank you for keeping this blog, its like a safe haven for drama crazy fans like me. Hugs my friend!

      2. Hanzawa Naoki is on a totally different level and I wait on the edge of my chair for the subs of the next ep.

        I find Hanzawa Naoki entertaining but for (I suspect) completely different reasons — I am v. amused by the cartoony acting and how all the baddies look like they have a perpetual case of constipation.

        In the meantime, I’ve started Yae no Sakura and I love it. Marathoned 6 episodes and almost went batshit crazy cause the cast, the storyline, the cinematography are just pure awesome.

        AHHHHH!!!!! You’ve already started on it! I skimmed through the first two episodes and chibi Yae is just too adorable for words! I need to start watching this drama pronto!

        Oh and I discovered thai lakorn on viki and actually finished one whole drama of 15 eps.

        I don’t know where you find the time to watch all these dramas, chingu. Can you give me some of your spare hours, please? XD

        Sadly, none of the Fall J-dramas excite me (and am I the only one who thinks that the synopsis for Honey Trap sounds a lot like Hanzawa Naoki’s?) so I guess this means I’ll be working my way through my drama backlist. I might even give Yamada-kun a go if the situation gets really dire. I do want to watch Fune wo Amu (http://www.shochikufilms.com/film/detail.php?product_code=780) if I can get my hands on it, though.

  2. MTE! MTE… Me toooo!^^
    I hope I get snowed in and then I’ll marathon this, too.
    I remember really liking the premiere of this, it was just the patience to watch all those eps.
    Did you watch Woman? One of the greatest doramas this year. Sakamoto Yuji is just…effing… WOW!

    1. Supah…you neeeeeed to watch YnS STAT. If you can handle I Live in Cheongdamdong, a 50-ep taiga should be no problem for you. Then again, you could always cheat and skip ahead to the Meiji arc for Odagiri Jo…hahahaha. But seriously she is a truly awesome character and you will feel totally awesome abt yourself for watching this drama! :D

      I have downloaded Woman but haven’t watched it yet. If it’s anything like Soredemo, I’m going to need to be in the right frame of mind for this one. But I have a feeling I prefer Sakamoto’s serious dramas to his comedies. I wanted to like Saikou no Rikon, for instance, but in the end the characters and story just didn’t resonate with me. But yes, I will totally get around to watching Woman (hopefully before this year is over…)

  3. Done! You’ve convinced me.

    ”But I have a feeling I prefer Sakamoto’s serious dramas to his comedies. I wanted to like Saikou no Rikon, for instance, but in the end the characters and story just didn’t resonate with me.”
    Second that. They failed to resonate with me, too. Eventually even I tired of Yuka’s overt sunniness.
    But truthfully, that last episode was magic, was worth it just for the magic of the finale alone.

    Woman is not maybe as GREAT as SIY but it’s definitely along those lines. It’s along the lines of VERY GOOD. Definitely poignant, lovely, bittersweet, tearjerking. It’s slice of life approach does make it slightly easier to watch than SIY though.

  4. Yo chingu! I’m still on the Yae no Sakura steamboat ep. 32 latest to be subbed though its almost boring and I’m waiting for Joe Odagiri to show up and take a fancy to Yae. Watched Andro Llyod for the love of Takuya Kimura. Love the perky eccentric scientist all 10 minutes he was on ep. 1. That android is really emoless ( after all he ain’t human) and I kinda like Takuya as an action star. Takuya and Kou’s chemistry still hot!

    1. This J-drama season has got to be one of the most dismal ones in recent history. I have never been so underwhelmed. Not touching Ando Lloyd. I’m not a fan of KimuTaku tbh, so that drama has no appeal for me whatsoever. Tried the doctor on the sea one with Matsuda Shota, checked out after the first 30 minutes. Would give Dokushin Kizoku a try except that I can’t stand that Fujigaya guy. I’m testing one or two other dramas out but so far, I don’t have much expectations for this season at all.

Leave a Reply

