Questions and Answers

Considering that I have not been the most consistent of bloggers, I was very surprised when Jenny of Kdrama&More told me that she had nominated me for a Liebster award. Thank you very much for this, Jenny. I am v. v. flattered to be included on your list given that I completed only one K-drama last year (and haven’t even gotten around to writing about it yet =.=)

I’m aware that there’s another component to the Liebster Awards but I think I’ll answer your questions first because knowing me, it will take another five billion years before I get around to the rest of it. So here goes:

1) If you could go on a date with an actor/actress for one day who would you choose and why?

I’m not sure I’d want to go on a date with anyone, to be honest. I would prefer to preserve the image I have of them in my head.

2) What is your all time favorite kpop MV?

I’m not really familiar with the K-pop scene so I can’t answer this one, unfortunately. I am, however, currently on a J-rock nostalgia kick and have been marvelling at X Japan‘s contributions to the field of hair physics. If anyone’s curious, my all-time favourite anthem is a toss up between Kurenai, Silent Jealousy, and X. The quality of the clips from their late 80s and early 90s concerts is generally not very good but here’s one of the better ones out there (please crank the volume all the way up to get the most out of your listening experience):

As for their ballads, I am partial to Say Anything: 

I think it’s a wonder that the ozone layer above Japan is still intact XD

3) If your life were an Asian drama, which drama would you pick?

Answer Me, 1994. Despite my bitterness feelings about the way the drama arrived at its conclusion, I enjoyed the camaraderie among the boarders a lot. In my next life, I would like to live in a boarding house with five equally yummy guys as my house mates.  Needless to say, the ending of my story will be different from the original.

4) Your life is going to become a script for a movie. Who would you want to play you? And why?

I don’t think there’ll be many actresses clamouring to play the role. Ultimately it would depend on who’s desperately in need of work. Hahaha.

5) What is you favourite book?

I don’t really have a clear favourite but there are a few books I revisit every now and then: The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro — I love the elegant simplicity of his prose; Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain; and Ouran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori (okay, so this isn’t exactly a book but I love every single character in this manga to bits, and I’d recommend it as a perk-me-up to anyone who’s feeling down.)

6)  If you could have a 30-minute conversation with any fictional character (Asian drama, movie or book character), who would you choose and why?

Chilbong at the beginning of episode 15 of Answer Me, 1994. <spoiler> I’d have told him to hang on to his baseball, forget about Na-jung and that New Year’s Eve promise because it’s not going to matter squat whether he shows up or not, and concentrate on his career in Japan and the US. Don’t even bother returning to Korea because the heartbreak is just not worth it. </spoiler>

7) Who is your favorite Asian drama character?

Again, I don’t have a clear favourite but there are a few who stick out in my mind more than others even after all these years, for example, Nokaze (Nakatani Miki) in JIN; Lee Shin-young (Park Jin-hee) in The Woman Who Still Wants to Marry; and Tsubasa Hikoichi (Kusanagi Tsuyoshi) in Ninkyo Helper.

8) Favorite drama ost of all time?

Don’t have one but I have been listening to a couple of tracks from the Answer Me, 1994  OST a lot. Guess which ones, haha.

9) What Korean food would you like to try?

Ever since I saw Go Hyun-jung’s character in What’s Up, Fox? standing by the roadside wolfing down an egg toast, I told myself that if I ever get around to visiting Seoul, those artery-clogging grease bombs are going to be one of the first things I stuff in my mouth.

10) If you were to come out in We Got Married, who would you like you partner to be?

Hahaha, this is quite similar to Q1 but okay, I’ll pretend that I’m an actress known for my frigid hauteur and my agency has decided I need to go on a charm offensive and project a cuddlier image before I lose my remaining CF contracts. Owing to various circumstances, I have no choice but to reluctantly agree to my manager’s harebrained suggestion.

In this instance, casting the right partner is absolutely crucial and if his appearances on Hwasin and various other variety shows are any indication, Yoo Yeon-seok’s aegyo and -2% personality could practically defrost a freezer.

wink1   wink2

[via fyeahyooyeonseok]

And since this entire show is scripted and we’re just fucking around with viewers’ heads playing cute for the camera, why not throw in a whole bunch of skinship moments as well? I guess, for the sake of ratings, I could put up with having his arms around me, like so:

osl osl2

[via seven syndrome]

Er…I think I’ve gone off tangent. Sorry about that but I hope you had as much fun reading my answers as I had answering your questions XDDD

8 comments

  1. Seriously,Ellély, can you write a full entry about our Chilbongie and his SPOILER ( bitter) SPOILER ending? It will be really really awesome.

    (SPOILER): But somehow, in my opinion,Chilbongie still needs to do what he did. Sure, if he had given up since ep 15, it will be much less painful for him and for us but the character would be much less wonderful. Not everybody will be convinced why he even loved NJ that much for a long time. After 21 eps, from a “boring” and difficult-to-understand typical second male- lead, he gradually,step-to-step became the most beautiful ,well – developed and consistent character in the drama. I was devastated but proud of him,a real man. Anyway, his last images for me in ep 21 is when he cried on the stadium(sobs) and the time he spent with the other kids( except 2 special people ,of course).END SPOILER

    And the reunion scene in the end of ep 18? One of the most beautiful reunion scene I have ever seen, well, regardless of ending.

    1. Answer Me, 1994 has been sitting in my drafts folder forever. Tbh, I haven’t been able to scrounge up the mental energy to watch the last episode. I know how the drama ended, of course — I’ve seen the gifs and read the recaps but the thought of watching the stadium scene just makes me very tired. Maybe I’ll get around to it later in the year…I do play on writing about the drama at some point, it might just take, um, a while though.

      Without going into too much detail, what I am pissed off about is the way they arrived at the conclusion. Spoiler: I am not against a Nareki ending but there are many ways to tell a story and this was definitely not the best approach. And don’t get me started on the 2013 scenes. I wonder if the writer was actually looking at them as a cohesive whole or if they were just meant to be red herrings written on the fly because my god, they make Trash and Na-jeong look so insensitive and callous when you consider these scenes in the context of the 1994-2002 ones.

  2. Chingu! Missed you! Laffed your answers to the questions tho mine would be totally different of course. Congratulations I hope you win the award cause I love your blog so much since the time I stumbled upon it looking for someone to spazz over SKKS. Off topic – yes I am watching Yoochun in Three Days and yes the plot is really good, suspense, thriller, rogue agent on the run, conspiracy. And pssst I’m watching two really hilarious, squeal worthy dramas- The Bride of the Century and #fullhousethai.

    I’d like to date Mickey Yoochun before he enters the army and I want to be on WGM with Jo In Sung. Still a stan of Jin Akanishi on the Net. Not on twitter anymore until after …. will let you know when. Hugs! :) Ginger

  3. Oh chingu, ever the loyal Micky fan — I knew you’d be watching Three Days. Whatever will you do when he’s in the army? XD

    I’ve heard plenty of good things about TBoC and FH Thailand but as I’m still recovering from a broken heart, I’ll have to shelf these two for later.

    1. when Yoochun enters the army I’ll watch all his dramas and movies that I have been hoarding on my hard drive. broken hearted over reply 1994 whc i didn’t watch. miss you!

      1. Haha, I should have guessed that would be your answer.

        Re: Reply 1994. Well, now that time has passed, I’m not so much heartbroken but angry at the way the drama arrived at its conclusion. I’m going to publish my post in this subject soon, I swear.

        I haven’t exactly been the most hardworking of bloggers, I know but hopefully things will change with this current crop of Spring dramas! :D

Leave a Reply

